An archive of the 50 previous news items

Latest News

The latest news from the African Leadership Institute and its Fellows. AFLI Fellows are leaders and change-makers, so this section has a lot of news. Please use the icons below if you want to sort posts by category, such as: regular news posts, video posts, audio posts, by tag, or by blogger. Additionally, all text in all of the posts is fully searchable.
Font size: +
2 minutes reading time (354 words)

AFLI Founders honoured by the University of the Western Cape


AFLI Founders Peter Wilson and Sean Lance were honoured by the University of the Western Cape at the UWC's gala ceremony on 30 November 2022 at which gold medals and honorary doctorates were conferred. The UWC held a dedicated gala ceremony to recognise individuals who have acted with excellence and distinction to improve the lives of others.

Sean and Peter received gold medals for the work they have done in establishing the African Leadership Institute and investing in young leaders of Africa through the Tutu Leadership Fellowship.

AFLI and UWC have some interesting ties.

At the ceremony, they were joined by AFLI Board Chair Trevor Manuel, himself a former UWC honorary doctorate recipient.  And Archbishop Tutu, the founding patron of the Archbishop Tutu Leadership Fellowship, was a former Chancellor of the UWC in the 1990s.  The ceremony had an additional connection to the past - it was a pleasant surprise for the Peter and Sean to have in attendance Professor Brian O’Connell. During his tenure as the Vice Chancellor of UWC, he brokered the meeting with Archbishop Tutu, who was Chancellor of UWC at the time that led to him accepting their invitation for him to be affiliated with their leadership programme.

Sean and Peter founded AFLI in 2003, and it is still strongly active and committed to strengthening new African leaders on the continent in partnership with Oxford University. Through its flagship programme, the Archbishop Tutu Leadership Programme, AFLI now has both the honour and the responsibility of preserving his legacy.

The recipients at the Gala Ceremony were Honorary Doctorate and Gold Medal recipients from 2021 and 2022, hosted by the Rector and Vice Chancellor.  It recognised nine recipients approved by the University Council.  The prestigious honour roll of Gold Medal recipients at the event included respected law practitioner and founder of Al Baraka Bank, advocate AB Mohamed; Derek Joubert and Peter Takelo, for their commitment to arts education and for nurturing the potential of the rural child in Barrydale; Sean and Peter, and former South African deputy president and UN under-secretary-general and executive director of UN Women, Dr Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka.



Hopewell Chin'ono wins anti-corruption award
AFLI Receives Award at the Reykjavik Global Forum ...

Related Posts



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Wednesday, 01 February 2023

Captcha Image